Question Blue Belt Gi Video from NAGA
OK, this is the video in question, please watch it first before looking at the questions below it.
YouTube- NAGA Georgia July 10, 2010 Middleweight Blue Belt Gi second match
The white guy with the fauxhawk thing (he shaves it off after NAGA) is from our gym. He completely shut his opponent down, flipped him over and took side control. The ref gave him 3 points, then the other guys coach complained, and the ref took the points back. They then gave the match to the other guy after time ran out based on him being "more active".
I've read the gi rules over and over again just be sure, but he should have gotten at least 2 points for establishing side control and holding it for almost a minute.
Can anyone explain to me why my team mate would NOT have won that match? Is there ANY way to get to side control without scoring ANY points?