PDA

View Full Version : resting

Zaron Yeras
11/11/2003 5:03pm,
I'm relatively new to martial arts, so I have a question about training. Is it better to alternatingly train intensely and lightly, in order to give your body a rest, or is it better to train with full exertion every day? If I were to do weight training one day, should I do it the next day as well? Thanks in advance for your reply.

PizDoff
11/11/2003 5:10pm,
Hell fucking no. You are most likely one of us normal people who do not have extreme physical recovery properties (unless you take steroids.)

You will find the weight training at your peak everyday will lower your peak.
You body needs proper nutrients and rest to regrow the muscles after working out.

Post your workout schedule.

Ideally I train upper body one day, then rest a whole day, then do lower body the day after that.
Then another whole day of rest.
The idea is to concentrate the body's growth to maximize it, so the flow of nutrients doesn't have too much competition.

Nid
11/11/2003 5:55pm,
He's right. Not a single beneficial change takes place WHILE you're working out. Prematurely stressing your body again is not only going to cut you short of gains, but also of, possibly, just breaking even.

Zaron Yeras
11/11/2003 6:13pm,
ok, but would you consider full contact grappling to be a full exertion workout? Like if you did a significant amount of full contact grappling one day, but no weight training, coudl you do weight training the next day and be okay?

Nid
11/11/2003 6:24pm,
Depends. :D

PizDoff
11/11/2003 7:38pm,
full contact grappling? is there penetration?

it depends how sore your muscles are the next day
and that depends on the nutrients you intake and your personal growth/recovery rates

when I'm sore after grappling I don't work those body parts...

9chambers
11/11/2003 11:48pm,