PDA

View Full Version : The Wandering Monk finds vintage jujitsu in Corpus Christi!

Scrapper
6/09/2007 3:49pm,
Wandering Monk Series Episode One:

Corpus Christi

And so it came to be that my travels took me to fabled Corpus Christi, TX. As a former KC resident, I have often heard of Corpus as a great Spring Break destination with it’s proximity to South Padre Island and cheap hotels and bars. Sadly, I was not there for spring break.

Bullshido Bully AMF extended me the invitation to check out his current training location, in a style called “Phan ku Ryu Jujitsu.” I came to find out that this is an offshoot of Kosen judo and traditional Japanese jujitsu founded by none other then Masato himself. It is currently being taught by 3rd-generation instructor, Michael Patterson.

About 40 minutes away from my hotel, Phan Ryu is located in what can only be described as four walls and a roof. The structure, wedged in back of a low-income residential area 2 streets off the main drag, was modest, but definitely clean and well maintained. After engaging in some seriously alive training with Texas’ legendary mosquitoes, the instructor arrived and we filed inside for class.

To say the instructor was unique is probably an understatement. The man used a fast-paced, rapid-fire instruction style, and seemed to be handicapped by his mouth’s insufficient speed in his attempts to say EVERYTHING he was thinking at once. The man had energy, folks. Lots of energy.

We started with a mild warm-up of ukemi, whereupon I was informed that in Phan Ryu, we do not use our hands to assist ourselves in standing up, lest someone use the opportunity to strike us. It made sense to me and the adjustment was simple enough. After that, we went to (wait for it) standing wristlocks.