PDA

View Full Version : Genius combination?

MaartenSFS
12/15/2006 9:07am,
I have recently purchased a telescoping baton (From and in China, BTW). It is about 22-23cm collapsed and 62cm in total length. When collapsed it is completely cylindrical and the grip is a smooth fabric. It easily slides into your pocket and is concealed. In China this is a completely legal weapon (As are whips, but not knives/firearms). Besides, my gongfu teacher once told me that the laws favour bad people. To protect ourselves we must be prepared to carry. Our enemies will. And probably more lethal things...

I have discovered that from my pocket I can easily "whip this **** out" to maximise the suprise and damage on the first attack. I studied some Iaido/Battojutsu while in Japan several years ago and am suprised that I can (Theoretically) put what I learned from that into practical use here. When the steel segments slide out at high speed I think that it is quicker (Or at least seems to be), similar to Battojutsu. I have been trying to systemise some techniques and I 100% believe in this, no matter what kind of state I am in at the time (I.E. Ill, tired, et cetera). I hope to arrange some kind of sparring/"live exercises" with a partner over here. Comments?

- Maarten Sebastiaan Franks Spijker

justabill
12/20/2006 6:39pm,
Sounds like it could be very effective. Simple to operate and can deter criminals. You could make your own video :) Unfortunately they are illegal where I live. I know of some people who actually carried steel fans instead. The shock and awe effect probably was the biggest benefit.

Neildo
12/20/2006 6:47pm,
I know I can buy them here, but if I get nabbed by the fuzz with one in my pocket, I'm in the deep doo-doo.

You should take up some stickfighting if you want to get really good with that baton. I'd love to get one myself, but the legalities man, the legalities!!