PDA

View Full Version : what do you guys make of this?

Pages : [1] 2

The Limey
12/20/2005 12:29am,
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3868648289863313105&q=silat

I'm interested in what you guys think about the striking techniques in this clip.

Ignoring the fact that the drills are obviously being done for demonstration purposes (hence the compliant partners) do you think strikes like that have any merit?

(please ignore the weapons and takedown stuff as well...I'm just interested in discussing striking)

I'm interested in hearing what people think about strikes done with that kind of speed:

Is it possible to get power to hurt someone with quick hits like that? Or are they merely done to keep the opponent off guard while you set something powerful up - like an elbow?

Or is it just Bullshido?

Maybe some of the more experienced CMAers/Silat guys can comment - I have zero CMA or Silat experience so I'm curious to hear if people think hitting like that is for show or useful in real life.

Thanks.

The Limey

The Limey
12/20/2005 12:42am,
And I put this in the wrong forum......mods please feel free to move it.

HwangJangLee
12/20/2005 12:45am,
first off i sure hope in your style you dont mean extreme martial arts?

HwangJangLee
12/20/2005 12:46am,
the guy is pretty fast and some of the stuff in there is worth while but no one is gonna let you do all that while they sit there

The Limey
12/20/2005 12:49am,
No I don't mean extreme martial arts.

Ex-TMA as in Ex-Traditional Martial Arts....more specifically Ex-TKD and Ex-Shotokan...but I can't fit all that in the bio so Ex-TMA had to do.

Sford
12/20/2005 1:03am,
I'm no expert on silat (or anything in MA, except how to get ripped off), but I've seen other videos of this guy and it seems to me that while silat may have its merits this guy appears to be working on an acting career. If I were being taught by him I'd probably pick the less "slap happy" type of attacks to focus on in my training.

Poop Loops