PDA

View Full Version : Misconception(s, Sport Martial Artists have)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Golddust420
9/17/2017 4:18am,
The western idea of what a martial art is, is farther from not even knowing what that term means. As a professional myself I would never dare to share my opinion unless instructed. A subject that for me is extremely personal and deserves great respect. My experience has shown me the difference. Martial arts has nothing to do with sports or competition. I see it constantly. Be it, I have never competed or been in a match. How I would do, I always wonder. And there is an attraction there. However the idea of fighting in itself is a mistake.

Martial arts to me is unity

MisterMR
9/17/2017 4:57am,
Even if you want to find philosophical values in martial arts, these philosophical values are supposed to be expressed through some sort of fighting.
Otherwise we wouldn't speak of 'martial' arts.

BackFistMonkey
9/17/2017 7:12am,
Western Martial Art ---------------> YMAS and slight title change.

The WMA forum is for discussions of Western Martial Arts. Discussing how Westerners are wrong and Sport vs Traditional MA's go here in YMAS (your martial art sucks) for it has been beaten to death a thousand times over on this forum already.

ermghoti
9/17/2017 8:07am,
The western idea of what a martial art is, is farther from not even knowing what that term means.

Let me guess, your definition differs from the one that has been used since it was first coined.

As a professional myself I would never dare to share my opinion unless instructed.

"Professional." LOL. You make your living at aikido? Nope. You're a hobbyist.

A subject that for me is extremely personal and deserves great respect. My experience has shown me the difference.

Respect and experience, bloviating and pseudo-philosophical navel gazing; tomato/tomahto.

Martial arts has nothing to do with sports or competition.