PDA

View Full Version : Choosing fighting styles / Planning training / Basic doubts

Pages : [1] 2

Short Timer?
4/01/2017 1:46pm,
On hindsight, I've miscalculated by first asking about this on YMAS—that topic has become a strange beast.

Here's the thing, I live in a rough area and I want to learn martial arts with the primary goal of being able to defend myself if I can't avoid getting involved in a fight.

I've practised Shotokan Karate as a kid, but even if that meant anything, there is nothing left of it, so I'm starting with a clean slate, as a complete beginner.

I'm tall and lean rather than stocky, and not heavily built. I have sharp reflexes when **** hits the fan.

As a starting point for a continuous effort to improve, I'm deciding what kind of training I'll do for the next five years, and I want to ask you about that.

What do you think would work better:

To focus on a single fighting style and dedicate the entire period (or most of it) to it? I'd been considering Muay Thai or Judo for that.

To divide the period between different styles and move from each to the next one? I'd been thinking Judo -> Muay Thai -> BJJ.

Or to pick a "central" style and use others to complement it as I go? My original plan was Muay Thai + Judo and BJJ.

What would you recommend, and why?

Not limited to the ones I've mentioned, what fighting style[s] would you recommend—and why? (Assume I could find a good dojo and a good teacher for anything you suggest.)

Can you give me some advice?
I want to add that, however I choose to proceed, I intend complement the martial arts training with weight lifting and a good diet.

The only specific advice I've got so far came from DCS—to start with boxing, and add a grappling art, preferably Judo, after a couple of years. This is what I'm working with, but I'd like to hear different takes.