PDA

View Full Version : Am I the only one who has experienced this? Legit tap by a lower belt.

Pages : [1] 2

Omega Supreme
2/08/2017 4:59pm,
So this is something that has been bothering me for awhile. I've been teaching SAMBO and then Jiu Jitsu for the past 22 years. Over those years I've told my grappling students that their job was to finally beat me, make me tap, whatever. So over the years I've tapped to a few of them as I guided them through techniques and allowed them to move to submissions without acknowledging that they got a legit tap. I have even had people quit because they would think:
a. I tapped the instructor so he must suck
b. I tapped the instructor but he won't acknowledge it so he's disingenuous.
c. Claimed I threw them out because they tapped me.

When somebody taps me on the mat we make a huge deal of it. We actually stop the entire class to let everybody know it happened. So am I the only instructor that gets butt sore students come through or is this something that happens often. If so, do share.

BKR
2/08/2017 5:20pm,
So this is something that has been bothering me for awhile. I've been teaching SAMBO and then Jiu Jitsu for the past 22 years. Over those years I've told my grappling students that their job was to finally beat me, make me tap, whatever. So over the years I've tapped to a few of them as I guided them through techniques and allowed them to move to submissions without acknowledging that they got a legit tap. I have even had people quit because they would think:

When somebody taps me on the mat we make a huge deal of it. We actually stop the entire class to let everybody know it happened. So am I the only instructor that gets butt sore students come through or is this something that happens often. If so, do share.

Tapping isn't such a big deal in Judo, however, getting thrown is. The same thing happens regarding throwing, though.