PDA

View Full Version : How to prevent hand injuries?

Pages : [1] 2

Karish
10/18/2016 2:16pm,
Godd day fellas, I got a question for you

What should I do to prevent hand injuries aside from tapping them? I'm a musician and it would be kinda annoying not to play my instrument because of an injury I could avoid by doing the right things. Massage? Cold/Hot water after the training?

EDIT : I train in Yoseikan, which imply both striking and grappling, but no weapons training for me

Morik
10/18/2016 2:28pm,
What are you training? (I imagine the answer might differ between stick fighting, judo/bjj, or a striking-only art.)

Permalost
10/18/2016 2:43pm,
For striking, it seems like sprained wrists are far more common than broken metacarpals, at least at the amateur level. So, spend the time developing good alignment of the wrist etc by striking pads, bags etc. Wear bag gloves at a bare minimum and don't hit as hard as possible with every shot.

For weapon sparring, wear sturdy gloves that offer thumb protection. When leading with your weapon hand, keep it a moving target.

For grappling, it seems like getting fingers caught in the gi is the main danger. Some tape their fingers together to protect them. Not my area of experience though.

In kickboxing, you may mess up your wrists doing intuitive downward blocks against round kicks. This is a bad habit and should be discouraged for other reasons as well. Tuck your elbow with the fist up instead.

Karish
10/18/2016 2:45pm,
What are you training? (I imagine the answer might differ between stick fighting, judo/bjj, or a striking-only art.)

Post edited, i should have added that, I train in yoseikan budo, so both striking and grappling, even though the grappling does not imply a firm grip to the gi like in judo

Karish
10/18/2016 2:49pm,