PDA

View Full Version : Hapkido Dojangs

sender
4/20/2015 2:42pm,
I'm thinking of taking up hapkido but I'm pretty new to martial arts and I'm worried about ending up in a McDojo as I'm not really sure what to look for in a martial arts school. Does anyone know any good Hapkido dojangs in Glasgow or Edinburgh?

Lanner Hunt
4/20/2015 3:25pm,
First and foremost, Welcome to Bullshido! You should hop over to Newbietown and introduce yourself.

Well, I'm not in Scotland, and I don't do Hapkido BUT, the wonderful thing about McDojo's is that you they follow some common habits regardless of style or country.

I'm gonna digress here for a moment, to clarify something that should help: what you seem to mean by 'McDojo', Bullshido will consider two different things: A Bullshido school and a McDojo.

A Bullshido school is a school that claims to teach something that it doesn't actually teach. It could be a self defense class that doesn't teach any practical self defense skills, or a Shotokan Karate dojo that is taught by someone who didn't actually hold a legitimate rank in Shotokan.

A McDojo is a school that is primarily concerned with profit, sometimes to an insane degree.

The tricky part is that its actually possible to have one without the other; for example, numerous Brazilian Jujitsu schools are McDojo's because of how they operate, but are still legitimate schools taught by experienced and qualified coaches.

Now! Back to your question: its good to be concerned, and it'd good to scrutinize. And while people here might know a good school in the area, the best thing you can do is go yourself.

Attend a free class, and inquire about the following:
-What rank does the lead instructor hold? Who have him that rank? As far as I'm aware, Hapkido does have a (loose) governing body, so it won't be hard to corroborate that.