PDA

View Full Version : Does punching damage your fingers dexterity ?

Phong Nguyen
11/28/2014 10:40am,
My job requires dexterity to perform tasks, should I take any combative sport? I dont intend to compete anyway, just want to train.

DdlR
12/01/2014 6:15pm,
I assume you mean punching solid objects, like heavy bags or sparring partners (?)

There are plenty of combat sports that don't involve much, or even any punching -especially grappling styles like judo or wrestling - but obviously any such activity carries a small risk of accidental hand or finger injuries.

Fuzzy
12/02/2014 4:35am,
Normal everyday punching/bagwork isn't really going to affect you. I'm a programmer by trade and even when I'm training 4 times a week I don't have any trouble touch-typing at speed.

That said, there's always the chance you'll do something stupid or have an accident and break a finger/sprain a wrist or whatever.

soft touch
12/02/2014 6:20am,
Normal everyday punching/bagwork isn't really going to affect you. I'm a programmer by trade and even when I'm training 4 times a week I don't have any trouble touch-typing at speed.

That said, there's always the chance you'll do something stupid or have an accident and break a finger/sprain a wrist or whatever.
ditto to this, the normal activities of bagwork etc don't give me issues. the only time my fingers have issues is when I **** up and jar or fracture them

Sent from my GT-I9100

W. Rabbit
12/02/2014 10:34am,
My job requires dexterity to perform tasks, should I take any combative sport? I dont intend to compete anyway, just want to train.

What's your job.

Permalost
12/02/2014 12:04pm,
I've been punching a bag somewhat regularly for like a decade and haven't noticed any loss of dexterity. However, when I was a teenager, sometime after a hard heavy bag session my hands would kinda shake. After more time and practice they stopped doing that.

Phong Nguyen
12/03/2014 12:14pm,
What's your job.